The Communities Manager gives you information on the number of communities you have joined. From here you can join a new community or manage the communities you have already joined.
Joining a Community
First, you need to go to the Community Management page using the people icon in the Navigation Bar.
Next, on the Community Management page, click the Join Community button in the top left.
After you click the Join Community button, you will be brought to a page to enter the invite code for the community. This will be provided by the moderator of the community (likely your professor). Once you enter the code, you just click the Join button to add that community and then click the done button at the bottom.
Community Management Page
The community management page has several features to offer. First, you can easily add more communities from this page using the Join Community button. You can also access the 'perform actions' button for each community you are a part of. Lastly, you can view any removed communities (communities you added and then later left) by clicking on the removed tab.
Sharing an ePortfolio or Project in a Community
From your community management page, it is easy to share ePortfolios and Projects. First, you will need to click on the perform actions button for the community you would like to work with. Next, you will need to click on either the ePortfolio icon (book) or Projects icon (briefcase). This will show you any currently shared ePortfolios or Projects. If you click the add button, a window will pop up and allow you to select whichever ePortfolio or Project that you would like to share. The process is identical for both ePortfolios and Projects.
The final two actions that you can perform in a community are to view the whole community and leave the community. By clicking on the eyeball icon or the image next to the community's name, you can view the whole community. This will show, depending on the community's settings, community members and ePortfolios and Projects in the community. The x will remove your account from the community.